Faculty Awards and Honors

Back to SBCC

Dr. John W. Rice Diversity and Equity Award

From the CA Community College Chancellor's Office Website: The Dr. John W. Rice Diversity and Equity Award was established in 2001 to honor community college staff members, districts, colleges, or programs that have made the greatest contribution towards faculty and staff diversity or student equity. Individuals or programs that have promoted and enhanced diversity at the community college level in California are eligible for nomination. The winners are selected for clearly demonstrating an outstanding achievement to diversity or student equity. This award is named in honor of former Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges member Dr. John W. Rice. He was a leader, innovator and spokesperson for equal employment opportunity and nondiscrimination in the largest system of higher education in the nation. While on the board, Dr. Rice displayed a strong commitment to multicultural learning experiences for all students.

SBCC recipients or nominees are recognized at the SBCC Faculty Award Reception.

2016-2017 Men in Nursing Club

2015-2016 School of Modern Languages

2014-2015 SBCC STEM Transfer Program

2013-2014 Santa Barbara City College

2013-2014 Pamela Guenther

2011-2012 Paula Congelton

2011-2012 EOPS Transitions Program, Marsha Wright and Noel Gomez (Program Recipient)

2010-2011 Ignacio Ponce (Individual Recipient)

2010-2011 The Veterans Support Program, Magdalena Torres (Program Recipient)

2009-2010 Nick Arnold

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2018 Santa Barbara City College